Sun, May 26, 2024
HomeAmericaFive Pakistani women cricketers make a comeback

Five Pakistani women cricketers make a comeback


Five Pakistani women cricketers make a comeback to Pakistan’s white-ball squads for West Indies series. The National Women’s Selection Committee, led by Saleem Jaffar, announced 16-member ODI and T20I squads against West Indies women’s team.


The three ODIs – part of ICC Women’s Championship 2022-25 – will be played between 18 and 23 April. While the five T20Is will take place from 26 April to 3 May. All eight matches will be played at the National Bank Stadium in Karachi.

Wicketkeeper-batter Sidra Nawaz (67 ODIs, 56 T20Is), absent since September 2023, rejoins Pakistan women’s cricket team for ODI series.


Four players – Ayesha Zafar (29 ODIs, 20 T20Is), Gull Feroza (2 T20Is), Rameen Shamim (3 ODIs, 4 T20Is), and Tuba Hassan (1 ODI, 21 T20Is) – are recalled for T20Is.

Ayesha last featured for Pakistan in the T20I format against South Africa in 2021. Gull Feroza’s last outing for the Pakistan women’s team in the T20I format was against Sri Lanka in 2022. While Rameen’s last T20I match was against South Africa in 2019. Tuba, last appeared in the T20I format against England in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2023.

Ayesha, Gull Feroza and Rameen, who are part of T20I squad, will participate in the National Women’s One-Day Tournament commencing in Faisalabad from 17 April. Before the T20I series, the three players will rejoin the national team squad.

At the conclusion of the ODI series, Sadaf Shamas, Sidra Nawaz and Waheeda Akhtar will move to Faisalabad to take part in the domestic one-day tournament.

Leg-spinner Ghulam Fatima, who was part of the 20–player camp in Karachi, has been rested. Bismah Maroof will undergo a fitness test next week before a decision on her selection is made.

Saleem Jaffar, Chief Selector: “The selection committee, in consultation with captain Nida Dar and interim head coach, has finalised 16-member squads for the ODI and T20I series. Five players in the squads return due to their performances in the domestic tournament and good skills they demonstrated in the camp.

Pakistan women squad for ODI:

Nida Dar (captain), Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof*, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Muneeba Ali, Najiha Alvi (wk), Nashra Sundhu, Natalia Parvaiz, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Tuba Hassan, Umm-e-Hani and Waheeda Akhtar

Pakistan women squad for T20I:

Nida Dar (captain), Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Zafar, Bismah Maroof*, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Gull Feroza, Muneeba Ali (wk), Najiha Alvi (wk), Nashra Sundhu, Natalia Parvaiz, Rameen Shamim, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Tuba Hassan and Umm-e-Hani

*Subject to fitness

Player support personnel

Saira Iftikhar (manager), Mauhtashim Rashid (interim head coach), Saleem Jaffar (bowling coach), Taufeeq Umar (batting coach), Hanif Malik (fielding coach), Muhammad Javed (strength and conditioning coach), Syed Nazir Ahmed (media manager), Rabia Siddiq (physiotherapist), Zubair Ahmed (analyst) and Nadia Arif (masseuse)


To ensure local fans can watch the women’s series live, it will be broadcast on A Sports HD television channel. The matches will also be live-streamed on Tamasha.

To prevent scheduling conflicts, the first and second ODIs between Pakistan and West Indies women’s teams will be adjusted.

PCB management has rescheduled the timings of women’s matches. They are now scheduled to start at 9.30am. The third ODI will begin at 3.30pm, while the first ball in the T20Is will be bowled at 7.30pm.

The 16-member ODI squad will assemble in Karachi on 13 April to feature in the training sessions. West Indies women’s cricket team will arrive in Karachi on 14 April.

– Press Release

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular

Recent Comments