Tue, Apr 16, 2024
HomeUK & EuropeUKUK Bangla Reporters Unity Unveils New Executive Committee for 2024

UK Bangla Reporters Unity Unveils New Executive Committee for 2024


The UK Bangla Reporters Unity (UKBRU) has recently unveiled its new Executive Committee for the year 2024, consisting of 15 members. The announcement took place at a ceremony held at the Micro Business Center in East London on Sunday, March 3rd. Notable figures elected to key positions include Ansar Ahmed Ullah, the UK correspondent for The Daily Star, who has been appointed as President, and Jubair Ahmed, serving as the General Secretary, representing DBC News TV.

The inauguration event commenced with a warm welcome directed by Shajidur Rahman, extending greetings to distinguished guests such as veteran journalist Matiar Chowdhury and the Associate Editor of UK Bangla Guardian magazine. Subsequently, the Secretary and Treasurer presented the report for the preceding year, highlighting achievements and areas for growth.

During the event, SKM Ashraful Huda, a Contributing Reporter at Jagannathpur Times, was honored with the Best Reporter of the Year award for his outstanding investigative report in 2023. The newly formed Executive Committee aims to foster organizational activities and support educational projects for the British Bangladeshi community.

The 15-member committee comprises individuals holding various positions of responsibility, including Vice Presidents, Secretaries, Treasurers, and Organizing and Training Secretaries. Among the distinguished members are representatives from leading Bangla media outlets and notable journalists, including:

  • President: Ansar Ahmed Ullah (The Daily Star)
  • General Secretary: Jubair Ahmed (DBC News TV)
  • Senior Vice President: Shajidur Rahman (UK Bangla Guardian)
  • Vice President: Saheda R. Rahman (Biswabanglanews24)
  • Vice President: Jamal Ahmad Khan (26 Television)
  • Assistant General Secretary: Mohammad Saleh Ahmed (UKBangla Guardian)
  • Assistant General Secretary: Azizul Ambia (Ajker Sylhet)
  • Treasurer: S K M Ashraful Huda (Jagannathpur Times)
  • Assistant Treasurer: Mirza Abul Kasem (SylhetMirror)
  • Organizing and Training Secretary: Abdul Bashir (Bisshobanglanews24)
  • Media and IT Secretary: Aminul Haque (News24 and ATN Bangla UK)
  • Event and Facility Secretary: A Rahman Oli (Habiganj Express)
  • EC Members: Matiar Chowdhury (Daily Uttorpurbo & Triteomatra UK Correspondent), Muhammed Shahed Rahman (Dhaka Post UK Correspondent & banglamirrornews.com Special Correspondent), Sunahar Ali (Cinebaaz Times)

The inauguration ceremony witnessed the presence of esteemed guests, including Dr. Bablin Malik, the Lord Mayor of Cardiff Council, Rahima Rahman, Chair and First Citizen of Newham Council, Najma Rahman, Camden City Mayor Councilor, Ashequn Nabi Chowdhury, Minister (Press) at the Bangladesh High Commission London, and Muhammed Shaheed Rahman, Founder President of UK Bangla Reporters Unity & UK Correspondent of Dhaka Post. Additionally, community activists, poets, and journalists shared their insights during the event, emphasizing the crucial role of journalism in community development and fostering cultural ties.

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular

Recent Comments